Living The Questions Today – NOW! (12/8)

My hunch is that some time in our younger years (18-25), we consciously or unconsciously wrestled with the questions:

  • Who am I?
  • What are my strengths and talents?
  • What do I want to do with my life?
  • What am I passionate about?
  • What are my values, my visions, my hopes?
  • What is my purpose, or if you like, my own personal mission statement?

None of us are at that age now. Most of us on the Soul Nugget list are between 39-96 years of age. Yes, the times they are a-changing. Carl Jung wrote: “that which served you in the morning of your life, will not serve you in the afternoon of your life.” The morning of life has more ego issues and concerns, the afternoon has more soul issues and concerns. This is a time for a new consciousness and a new creativity. So, this time for many of us is a time for rebooting, for new directions, for new ways to engage the mystery of life. New adventures. New ways to contribute to the common good, to love and serve others.

Two of our best friends have just retired, selling their former businesses and are entering a new land. Another two set of friends just retired from a ministry of coaching and have written a new book. Several of you have recently lost a spouse, or partner, and are entering a new land.

All of us are living in a land so different from the one into which we were born. Change is everywhere. And a new land is calling out to us. Creation continues!

I retired on January 5, 2014 after 46 years of a ministry with The Presbyterian Church, something I loved and valued more than I can say. But it was time for me to step aside and to move in a new direction. My life was unfolding in a new way. It is a time for many of us to live the questions anew. Listen for the fresh answers that arise from deep within you now.

      • Who am I now?
      • What are my strengths and talents now?
      • What do I want to do with my life now?
      • What am I Passionate about?
      • What are my values, my visions, my hopes now?
      • What is my purpose, or if you like, my personal missions statement now?

Read “Ecclesiastes 3” by Holy Bible (KJV) on Genius

Advent Questions:

  • Am I willing to receive the new life that is seeking to breakthrough to me now?
  • Am I listening to my life now?
  • Am I too comfortable in my well upholstered rut?

I welcome your responses to the above. But more, I hope you will gift yourself with time to lean into and to reflect on the questions of your life now. We do not learn from experience as much as we learn by reflecting upon experience. Listen to your life now!

Peace, Justice, and Equality for all.

Leave a comment