Deep Peace Of Prayer Be With You (2/28/15)

Thinking about prayer. For me, prayer is simple thankfulness, gratitude for the gift of life. Barbara Brown Taylor writes: “Prayer is a practice – not a topic for discussion.”

Here is a prayer from Marv and Nancy Hiles that is used often on their Iona Retreats at Santa Sabina in California. It is inclusive, ecumenical, free and open. You may want to read the prayer slowly and aloud.

O God before me, O God behind me,
O God above me, O God beneath me.
Unnamable God in whom I live, move,
and have my being.

Guide me in the currents of the river
and in the twisting of the road.
Be thou the joy of my days,
the light of my nights.
Be the end of my beginning,
the beginning in my end.

Deep Peace of God be with you always.

We are all sparks of the Divine flame
Blessed Be
Compassionate Be
Boldly Be

Leave a comment